Cookie Preferences

Here at The Association of Police Communicators we use cookies to:
- improve our website performance;
- help you share our content across your social media networks; and
- personalise our advertisements to you.

To accept our cookies please click the button below, or for further details and the chance to specify your cookie preferences please click ‘more information’.

You can change your preferences at any time by visiting the "Cookies Preferences" page, which can be found via our footer. View our Privacy & Cookie Policy for full details.

Recognition Awards 2022

The Association of Police Communicators (APComm) is committed to recognising and encouraging exemplary work and excellence in performance.

It could have been how your team responded to a major incident, or a plan that had positive behavioural influence, or even an innovative contribution to a national or organisational challenge but, whatever it is, we think it deserves recognition and reward from your peers.

At Academy 2022, we will be holding our first APComm Recognition Awards. We want you or your team to have that moment in the limelight and this is your opportunity to make that happen!

The nominations for the APComm Recognition Awards 2022 are now closed.

People nominating communications staff or teams from policing organisations must complete a nomination form (link provided below) providing background for why their excellence should be recognised.

Nominators can include other policing communicators, Chief Officers, partners and outside organisations - and nominees must be members, via their organisation, of APComm in order to be eligible to be nominated.

The nomination process will require one person to nominate and two people endorsing, who sit independently and outside the nominators / nominee team.

Any nomination should include strong evidence of at least two of the following areas, for work which has taken place over the last 12 months (April 2021 – April 2022):

  • Commitment
  • Excellence in a crisis
  • Marvellous motivator
  • Strategic thinker
  • Policing comms promoter

The closing date for nominations to be submitted was Monday 1 August 2022.

Once the process closes, the nominations will then be reviewed the APComm Executive, supported by a panel of experts:

  • Chief Constable Gavin Stephens, Chair of the Communications Advisory Group
  • Clarissa Hawthorne, Communications Advisor to the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners
  • Charlotte Phillips, Executive Director Crest Advisory
  • Royston Martis, Martis Media (who support Police Federation communications across England)
  • Ben Levine, Director from AMEC